The affairs of the Zoological Society of South Africa are run by a management committee of honorary and council members elected every two years by the members of the ZSSA. The current council members are:

Honorary Editors

Additional Members

  • Dr Sarita Maree

    Post-doctoral Fellow in the DST/NRF SARChI Chair of Mammalian Behavioral Ecology & Physiology, Department of Zoology & Entomology,
    and The Molecular Ecology & Evolution Program, Department of Biochemistry, Genetics and Microbiology, Faculty of Natural & Agricultural Sciences, University of Pretoria


  • Dr Leigh Richards

    Curator of Mammals, Durban Natural Science Museum


  • Prof Dan Parker

    Associate professor: School of Biology and Environmental Sciences, Faculty of Agriculture and Natural Sciences, University of Mpumalanga

    Email: Email:

  • Dr Seth Eiseb

    Senior Lecturer: Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science, University of Namibia


  • Dr Mark Keith

    Senior lecturer: Centre for Wildlife Management, University of Pretoria


  • Prof Aliza le Roux

    Associate Professor: Department Zoology & Entomology, University of the Free State – Qwaqwa campus


  • Ms Tshepiso Majelantle

    MSc Zoology
    Department of Zoology and Entomology, University of Pretoria


Advisory Members