ISSN: 1562-7020 (Print), 2224-073X (Online)

Publication frequency: 4 issues per year

Impact Factor: 0.761 (2017)

5-year Impact Factor: 0.875 (2017)

Scope of the publication

African Zoology, a peer-reviewed research journal, continues Zoologica Africana and South African Journal of Zoology and is currently published by NISC.

The Journal publishes original scientific contributions and critical reviews that focus principally on African fauna in terrestrial, freshwater, and marine ecosystems. Research from other regions that advances practical and theoretical aspects of zoology will be considered. Rigorous question-driven research in all aspects of zoology will take precedence over descriptive research. The journal publishes full-length papers, critical reviews, short communications, letters to the editors as well as book reviews. Contributions based on purely observational, descriptive or anecdotal data will not be considered.

The Journal is produced by NISC in association with the Zoological Society of South Africa (ZSSA). Acceptance of papers is the responsibility of the Editors-in-Chief in consultation with the Editors and members of the Editorial Advisory Board. All views expressed are those of the author and not necessarily those of the Editors or the Department.


Carol A Simon

Department of Botany & Zoology, Stellenbosch University, South Africa.


Theresa C Wossler

Department of Botany & Zoology, Stellenbosch University, South Africa.


Associate Editors

Nico Avenant

Bloemfontein Museum, South Africa

Nico de Bruyn

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Andre Ganswindt

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Nicola James

South African Institute of Aquatic Biodiversity, South Africa

Bob McCleery

University of Florida, USA

Leo Nagelkerke

Wageningen University, Netherlands

Dan Parker

Rhodes University, South Africa

Sandi Willows-Munro

University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Adrian Craig

Rhodes University, South Africa

Andrew David

Clarkson University, USA.

Retha Hofmeyr

University of Western Cape, South Africa

Ceri Lewis

University of Exeter, United Kingdom

Łukasz Michalczyk

Jagiellonian University, Poland

Annemariè Avenant-Oldewage

University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Victor Rambau

Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Albert Chakone


Editorial Advisory Board

Madeleine Beekman

University of Sydney, Australia

Robin Crewe

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Alan Hodgson

Rhodes University, South Africa

Sarita Maree

University of Pretoria, South Africa

Peter Taylor

University of Venda, South Africa

Mike Cherry

Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Ken Halanych

Auburn University, USA

Pat Hutchings

Australian Museum, Australia

Melodie McGeogh

Monnash University, Australia

Publishing Manager

Contact regarding all aspects relating to the production of the journal, including scheduling and copyright issues:

Mike Schramm

NISC (Pty) Ltd

4 Speke Street

PO Box 377

Grahamstown 6140

South Africa


Tel: +27 (0)46 622 9698

Fax: +27 (0)46 622 9550