The ZSSA council presents an annual award for the most outstanding third year and Honours students in Zoology at each of the southern African universities.

Heads of Zoology Departments are invited to annually submit the names for potential award winners from their students. Proposals must be submitted as soon as the final marks are available.

Attention is drawn to the following aspects when making a selection. The Head of Department will decide on the excellence of a candidate. The award shall be granted to the best student in that year, providing that the student is deemed to be of sufficiently high standard. Other attributes such as leadership qualities, interest in Zoology, and Zoology as a career should be considered.

Complimentary student membership of the Society for one year accompanied by a suitable certificate, will be awarded to the successful candidate.

Heads of relevant Departments should be encouraged to present these awards at a suitable occasion to ensure the necessary publicity, for example if graduation takes place in December, it would be the perfect opportunity to present the award.

Head of Departments are welcome to contact the ZSSA office for more information:

Dr. Heike Lutermann
Department of Zoology & Entomology
University of Pretoria
Private Bag X20

E-mail: please cc

Award Winners

Student winners for the 2017 academic year

Instution 3rd Year Student Honours Student
Nelson Mandela University: Dept of Zoology Lyle De Menezes Taryn Smit
University of Johannesburg: Dept of Zoology Erin Frances Oberem Liam James Connell
University of Cape Town: Dept of Biological Sciences Sejal Pramlall Michaela Martins
University of Fort Hare: Department of Zoology & Entomology Bantony Ziko Godfrey Padare
University of KwaZulu-Natal: Westville Yadvi Balgobind
University of KwaZulu-Natal: Pietermaritzburg Nokwanda Mkhize Nikisha Singh
University of KwaZulu-Natal: Westville (Biology and Marine Biology) Advaitaa Haripershad Amy Shurety
University of Mpumalanga: Dept of Zoology no reward yet no reward yet
University of North West: School for Biological Sciences: Zoology Carina Verster Franziske Coetzee
University of Pretoria: Department of Zoology & Entomology Emma Maeve Jepsen Shannon Mitchell
University of Rhodes: Department of Zoology & Entomology Amy Alison Hunter Megan Kim Reid
University of Stellenbosch: Dept of Botany and Zoology Andre Scheepers Nicole (Nikki) Voster
University of the Free State: Department of Zoology & Entomology Kaylee Nancarrow Klinette Sutherland
University of the Western Cape Amieroh Abrahams Erin Jooste
University of Venda: Dept of Zoology Fhulufhelo Mulaudzi I Chauke
University of Witwatersrand: Animal, Plant and Environmental Sciences Mijke Muller IeIyzavata Ivanova