Zoological Society of Southern Africa (ZSSA)

40th ZSSA conference 2023: 25 - 29 September 2023
Champagne Sports Resort, KwaZulu-Natal



The Gold Medal award is presented biennially by the ZSSA Council for outstanding achievements in Zoology in Southern Africa over several years. Prof. Peter J. Taylor was the receiver of the award in 2023.  He is currently at the University of the Free State, QwaQwa Campus.

Prof. Aliza le Roux, ZSSA president with Prof. Peter Taylor

The Lawrence Memorial Grant is in honour of Dr Reginald Frederick Lawrence who made a substantial contribution to invertebrate Zoology in South Africa. The 2023 receiver of the award was Alexander Julian Nieto Lawrence of Stellenbosch University.

Prof. Colleen Downs, Treasurer of ZSSA, with Alex Nieto Lawrence


MSc Student winners

First Prize: Julian Alexander Nieto Lawrence (University of Stellenbosch)

Second Prize: Hal Brindley (University of Cape Town)

PhD Student Winners

First Prize: Monday Mdluli (University of the Free State)

Second Prize: Marc Freeman (University of Pretoria)

Third Prize winner: Toka Mosikidi (University of the Free State)

The best paper published by a student author in 2022

The Best Student Paper Award was awarded to Dr. Marc Freeman for his paper “Evolution of avian heat tolerance: the role of atmospheric humidity”, published in National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America in 2022.

Marc Freeman and Alexandra Howard